About the conference

The ‘Indian Ophthalmology Congress – 2017’ targets comprehensive Ophthalmological principles that post graduates, fellows and practicing ophthalmologists need to refresh. With ‘Back-to-Basics’ as its theme, the event will focus on the basics of ophthalmological practice along with the advances seen in the recent times.

The event will witness a unique mix of:

  • Practising ophthalmologists
  • Research fellows
  • Post graduates

It will be a perfect platform to:

  • Share experiences
  • Foster collaborations
  • Evaluate emerging technologies in our field.



The Telangana State Medical Council has awarded 4 CME credit points for participants of the “Indian Ophthalmology Congress – Back to Basics” .

Keynote Address By
Peter A. Netland, MD, PhD
Vernah Scott Moyston Professor and Chair
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Virginia School of Medicine
Charlottesville, Virginia USA

The International faculty also includes:


The ‘Indian Ophthalmology Congress – 2017’ will witness renowned national and international speakers on one platform. This is your opportunity to gain exclusive insight into the ophthalmic practices while networking with key leaders of the department.
Dr. Peter Netland Dr. Uday Devgan Dr. Mya Devgan Dr. Ramesh Ayyala
Dr. Prashant Bawankule Dr. Sourav Sinha Dr. Partha Biswas Dr. Krishna Prasad Kudlu
Dr. Mallika Goyal Dr. Aloka Hedau Dr. B Venkateswar Rao Dr. Charuta Puranik
Dr. Ekta Agarwal Dr. M.S.Sridhar Dr. Nitesh Narayan Dr. Prashant Garg
Dr. Ramesh Kekunnaya Dr. Rishi Swaroop Dr. Santosh Honavar Dr. Srinivas Prasad
Dr. Anil Kumar Mandal Dr. Preeti Patil Dr. Jay Chablani Dr. Pravin Krishna
Dr. Sirisha Senthil Dr. Viney Gupta Dr. Lalit Verma Dr. Mahipal Sachdev
Dr. Namrata Sharma Dr. Arjun Srirampur Dr. Aruna Kumari Gadde Dr. Divya Basa
Dr. Tarannum Mansoori Dr. Satish G Agraharam Dr. Gangaprasad Amula

Organising committe

Dr. Ramesh S. Ayyala

Dr. Ramesh S. Ayyala

Dr. Ramesh S. Ayyala

MD, FRCS, FRCOphth Chairman and Founder
Dr.Ramesh S. Ayyala is an internationally known Glaucoma and Anterior Segment surgeon and researcher.He comes with extensive experience in training Ophthalmology residents. He was awarded “Courage to Teach Palmer Parker Award” by the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) for rebuilding the Ophthalmology residency program at Tulane University following Hurricane Katrina.Dr. Ayyala completed his training from different parts of the world- India; Residency in Ophthalmology in United Kingdom & USA; Sub-specialty training in Glaucoma from Harvard University, Boston; Cornea and External Diseases from Boston University Medical Center.He is also the recipient of the “Teaching Scholar Award” by Tulane School of Medicine.

His passion for quality education at low cost resulted in the establishment of Meditred.com, an online website, dedicated to resident education for which he was awarded the “New Orleans Citi Business Innovators’ Award”.He has authored numerous peered reviewed original articles in all major Ophthalmic journals.His research led to the creation of the world’s first slow release drug delivery system to decrease scar tissue formation following Glaucoma drainage device surgery.He has been listed in the “Best Doctors in America”, “America’s Top Ophthalmologists, by the Consumer’s Research Council of America and recognized by the American Academy of Ophthalmology with its “Achievement Award”Dr. Ayyala is one of the Founder members and a major decision maker for all the projects of AEI. He represents AEI at Tulane university which facilitates fellowship exchange programs.He currently serves as a Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of Residency and Fellowship (Glaucoma) Program and Director of Glaucoma Services in Tulane University.

Dr. Satish G Agraharam

Dr. Satish G Agraharam

Dr. Satish G Agraharam

MBBS, MS Managing Director and Founder
Dr. Agraharam is a nationally known Vitreo retinal surgeon. He established he first Vitreo Retinal Institute dedicated to the treatment of Vitreo Retinal Diseases in the state of Andhra Pradesh in 2000. With over 18 years of experience as a Retinal surgeon, he has been consulted in and operated on hundreds of cases from all over Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana and Karnataka.

Completed his postgraduate training in Vitreo Retina from Sankara Nethralaya, Chennai as the “Best Outgoing Fellow”. Won various awards & laurels during his educational years including “Shivareddy Gold medal” in Ophthalmology and “Vengalrao Gold medal” for his paper presentation given by AP Ophthalmic society(APOS).Passionate about teaching, Dr. Agraharam has taught many residents and fellows both at Sankara Nethralaya and at the Sadhuram Eye Hospital for over 7 years. His passion for teaching combined with his expertise in treating eye problems and experience in the establishment of the Viteroretinal institute led him to collaborate with other like minded people and establish the Anand Eye Institute.